Mace Francis Orchestra

The Mace Francis Orchestra (MFO) was formed late in 2005 by band-leader and composer Mace Francis to experiment with composition, in the style of the great modern big bands lead by Bob Brookmeyer, Thad Jones, Bill Holman and Maria Schneider.  The result has been the coming together of 14 of Perth’s finest musician’s and composers to create exciting new music for big band. Over the last 10 years MFO has recorded 6 CDs, toured nationally 4 times and performed with international jazz artists, Jim Pugh (USA), Jon Gordon (NY), John Hollenbeck (Berlin), Theo Bleckmann (NY), Ed Partyka (GER) and Satoko Fujii (JAP).


Saxophones:    Ben Collins, Dan Hart, Brett Smith, Luke Minness, Tim Newhouse

Trumpet:        Ricki Malet, Matthew McGlynn, Matt Smith, Dan O’Connor

Trombone:      Blake Phillips, Catherine Noblet, Mace Francis, Rob Coleman

Guitar:            Harry Winton

Bass:                Zac Grafton

Drums:            Alex Reid